Railways in art

Started by Jim Easterbrook, November 23, 2021, 10:31:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim Easterbrook

Some years ago Sarah and I visited the art museum in Brussels, mainly for the Magrittes, but I was rather struck by this picture by Paul Delvaux.

Train du Soir, Paul Delvaux, 1957

I bought a print of it in the museum shop, and Sarah got it framed for my Christmas present. It now hangs in pride of place in the living room.
Jim Easterbrook
"I'm an engineer, not an artist!"
"Amoro, emptio, utiliso!"
Personal website. / Photos on Flickr. / Blog.

Jim Easterbrook

Another picture that caught my eye recently is "Spirit of the Southern" by Harry Stevens.

Spirit of the Southern, Harry Stevens, 1969

This one is in the National Railway Museum. I've not seen it, but Tim Dunn posted it on Twitter and I immediately wanted it. I bought a print by mail order which arrived last week, and now a frame is on order from https://www.easyframe.co.uk/ - a company I've used several times and can recommend.
Jim Easterbrook

Dorsetmike

Cheers MIKE
[smg id=6583]

How many roads must a man walk down ... ... ... ... ... before he knows he's lost!

joe cassidy

The French Impressionists were not averse to painting trains, railway bridges etc.

Jim Easterbrook

I was hoping we'd see one or two favourites of other forum members.
Jim Easterbrook

chrism

Quote from: Jim Easterbrook on November 23, 2021, 12:08:37 PM
I was hoping we'd see one or two favourites of other forum members.

Both of mine have already been mentioned - although I also like Turner's Rain, Steam and Speed.

Papyrus

We found this picture in the Bluebell Railway Carriage Shop a few years ago and both fell in love with it:

The artist is one Chris Dawson, whom I know not. It's obviously based on a photo, but I'm not complaining.

I also found this at the same place this year: