Cover for layout

Started by Brenda, November 26, 2012, 06:06:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brenda

Hi everyone,
Being a complete novice I need help please. I've just started building my first layout. It is 38x72" which is the maximum space available. I've had marine ply 12mm cut to size by the local merchant and I built an interlocking frame underneath with 11" square spaces and drilled holes for wires. I've screwed the ply down each side of every joint with countersink holes. Can I please have advice on the following
1)   should I fill over the screws so I have a smooth surface?
2)   Do I also need to cover the ply with cork etc before the track is laid
3)   I have a cat, which will also have to use the room the layout is in.
Obviously I want to keep him and his fur off the track. So I would
Like to build a clear cover that could be taken off easily in sections.
Can anyone suggest a design, type & thickness of clear material for flat areas and frame.

All help really appreciated
Many thanks
:thankyousign:
B.

Pengi

Welcome to the Forum Brenda, great to have you on board!

I know that some of our members have cats - I've seen them in pictures of their layouts so I'm sure you will get some advice on how to encourage the cats away from the tracks.

Just one Pendolino, give it to me, a beautiful train, from Italy

Caz

Hi Brenda,

Welcome the forum Brenda, nice to have another girl onboard, think that makes 5 of us now  :claphappy:

You'll find us a friendly bunch and no question is too silly to ask (I've asked plenty!) there's always someone who will come with an answer.  Don't forget to use our search function, it can come up with some real gems sometimes to the most obscure of questions.

Sorry don't have a solution for your cover, but you will certainly need to do something as cats and railways definitely don't mix, their hairs get everywhere and can cause big problems for small N Gauge locos and stock.
:welcomesign:

Caz
layout here