!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Fleischmann colour light signals become hot  (Read 215 times)

Offline parcmor

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
Fleischmann colour light signals become hot
« on: August 24, 2018, 04:08:02 pm »
I'm not experienced with railway electrics. I'm building a DC layout that I hope to convert to DCC when I get more experienced. I have started to use Fleischmann signals both semaphore and coloured light. I have noticed that they become very hot relatively quickly. Is this normal, if not what am I doing wrong? I use the diagrams that come with the signals to set them up. I think I am doing it correctly. I would appreciate any help on this matter.

Online ntpntpntp

• Awards
Re: Fleischmann colour light signals become hot
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2018, 06:45:51 pm »
What exactly is becoming hot?  Light bulbs?  The mechanism for the semaphore signals? 

What are you using for the power supply? Have you checked the voltage?

My only experience of Fleischmann signals is with the colour lights, older models which I've had since the 80s so they're definitely bulbs not LEDs. I drive these from 15V ac with no problems. Never noticed any heat buildup.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2018, 06:48:51 pm by ntpntpntp »
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

Offline parcmor

• Awards
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2018, 07:34:29 pm »
Hi, thanks for that. The power supply id a Fleischmann transformer. The part that gets really hot is at the top around the bulb. Regards.

Online ntpntpntp

• Awards