!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU  (Read 256 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline stuartgoble

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« on: June 25, 2018, 05:57:59 pm »
Just joined the forum and first post, so please be kind.

Moving from OO to N gauge and in the process of acquiring new rolling stock I've acquired a GF Class 108 DMU three car set.  Despite all the fuss trying to get the bodies off, there appears to be the need for 2 DCC chips, one in the power car and one at the back.

Can someone help me understand how I link these together?  If indeed I need to...  I guess they need two to drive the lights etc. but for the life of me I can't work this one out.

Hope someone can shed some light.

Many thanks.

Offline Tornado

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 27332
  • Posts: 93
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • My N Gauge Model Railway
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2018, 09:17:25 pm »
Fit the 2 decoders then put the 108 on the programming track if its long enough and you will be able to program them together. If you have to do it on the main track remove any other DCC fitted locos or else you program those too. Welcome to the forum btw :hellosign:

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+60)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 28664
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2018, 09:24:57 pm »
Hi Stuart, and welcome to the forum :wave: (from an old DC dinosaur)

Offline bluedepot

  • Trade Count: (+7)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2458
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2018, 09:53:44 pm »
if both the trailer and powered car show red / white at the same time you can fix this by changing the direction in one of them.  you can programme one of them so that it switches forward to reverse.... i think it is the value in cv29 that controls this, but look at the instructions or an online cv29 calculator to check this out.

taking the body off is the hardest part so well done on that!


good luck



tim

Offline Bramshot

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2018, 10:12:31 pm »
Fit the 2 decoders then put the 108 on the programming track if its long enough and you will be able to program them together. If you have to do it on the main track remove any other DCC fitted locos or else you program those too. Welcome to the forum btw :hellosign:

If it follows the pattern of the 101 DMU and Blue Pullman, the two ends are wired differently, so there is no need to change the direction in one using CV29 to get the lights to show correctly. You do indeed need two decoders, but the one in the unpowered car can be a function decoder without the motor drive capability, which might be a bit cheaper. Or you could use one that has blown up for motor control but still works light functions, if you have one.

Regarding the above quote, it is only programming the loco address that canít be done on the main track unless you remove all other dcc locos. Once the address is programmed either by this method or on the programming track, you can programme the CV values on the main track without affecting other locos decoders.

Offline stuartgoble

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2018, 05:04:50 pm »
Thanks one and all for the help and suggestions.

Lenz Silver Mini fitted to the power car, prog'd and all is well...

However, do you think I can get the secondary car to play ball...?  I fitted a spare Hattons decoder I had around and it simply won't respond to programming.  I'm pondering a dead decoder or perhaps it needs a total reset.

Next step is to put the Lenz decoder in the back car and reset it to see if that makes anything work.  I'm also starting to suspect pickups etc in the back car, so might need to do some DMM probing...

Wish me luck  :'(

Offline Lindi

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 400
  • Country: 00
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2018, 05:19:07 pm »
Thanks one and all for the help and suggestions.

Lenz Silver Mini fitted to the power car, prog'd and all is well...

However, do you think I can get the secondary car to play ball...?  I fitted a spare Hattons decoder I had around and it simply won't respond to programming.  I'm pondering a dead decoder or perhaps it needs a total reset.

Next step is to put the Lenz decoder in the back car and reset it to see if that makes anything work.  I'm also starting to suspect pickups etc in the back car, so might need to do some DMM probing...

Wish me luck  :'(


It's because there is no motor load on the secondary car so it won't respond to programming. Temporarily place the Hattons decoder into the power car and set the values you want, then return it to the secondary car and it should work as you want it to.

Offline Paul-H

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 281
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2018, 10:42:25 pm »
Might be un related as I can't remember if I did my 108 on the main or programming track but the other day I tried to put a decoder in my Dapol class 27 dummy, just for the lights, and it would not program read or respond on the programming track, but as soon as I popped it on the main it programmed fine, I just figured it wouldn't program on the programming track because it didn't see a motor and on the main it was not do fussy.

I am using a Gaugemaster Controller if it makes any difference.

Paul
« Last Edit: June 29, 2018, 09:15:06 am by Paul-H »

Offline Steven B

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 12107
  • Posts: 465
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Graham Farish - Class 108 DMU
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2018, 09:04:26 am »
Decoders in dummy locos/DMU cars should still program - the controller may csay they've failed because there's no motor load to allow the decoder to issue it's acknowledgement pulses.

Steven B.

 

Please Support Us!
July Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Jul 31
Total Receipts: £45.00
Below Goal: £10.00
Site Currency: GBP
82% 
July Donations


Advertise Here