!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?  (Read 235 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Paul-H

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?
« on: February 17, 2018, 08:57:25 pm »
Hi all

I think my GM pro2 has just died, just in case I am missing something obvious

Does it mean anything other than it's dead if the power light just blinks with no display on the walkaround.

Thanks

Paul

Offline dancemaster

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 16571
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2018, 10:08:48 pm »
 Check for something on the track that could be causing a short.  Also take all the locos off the track to eliminate them from the problem.

Offline Paul-H

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2018, 05:49:58 am »
I have in plugged it from the track and it's still doing it.

Online Bealman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23151
  • Posts: 13224
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Whoops back we go
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2018, 06:01:39 am »
Check the output with a DMM. no volts, or abnormal volts, time for a service, methinks?
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Offline Izzy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 280
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2018, 09:39:20 am »
I'd unplug the handset and try it not connected to anything else. Usually the two green lights flashing together or on continuously indicate a short somewhere, but just the one I'm not sure about. If it's a wired handset is it connected to one of the correct sockets?

Otherwise I'd ring/e-mail Gaugemaster. They are very good at dealing with their DCC system faults/repairs and generally give a first rate service. I have had my system repaired and returned inside a week in the past.

Izzy

Offline Paul-H

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 254
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance2 flashing power light?
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2018, 10:01:47 am »
Yep

Even when its just got the power connector plugged in the power LED just blinks

Its only 4 months old so going back tomorrow, hope the accept my Paypay receipt as the eBay seller Train Stop didn't supply an receipt when I bought it.

Good job I have a spare, even though its the non 2 version it still works well connected to my layout.

 

Please Support Us!
June Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Jun 30
Total Receipts: £60.00
Above Goal: £5.00
Site Currency: GBP
109% 
June Donations


Advertise Here
anything