!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?  (Read 1034 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dorsetmike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 2365
  • Posts: 3046
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Grumpy old fart
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #15 on: February 10, 2018, 11:45:46 am »
Proses do a powered rerailer, it has contacts underneath to get power from the track

https://proses.com/prestashop/tools-testers-cradles-rolling-roads-/200-hooo-powered-railer-for-locos-coaches-and-wagons.html
Cheers MIKE
(Sorry, but you are not allowed to access the gallery)


How many roads must a man walk down ... ... ... ... ... before he knows he's lost!

Offline RailGooner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 17356
  • Posts: 1502
  • Country: gb
    • Ebay
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #16 on: February 10, 2018, 12:10:12 pm »
Terry, I wish you a speedy recovery.

I prefer my Kato most, of all of my simple 'roll-on' type rerailers.
Per Ardua ad Astra | Mens Agitat Molem | Victoria Concordia Crescit

I'm supporting Project Railway Honour

Offline Portpatrick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 3434
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #17 on: February 10, 2018, 12:25:57 pm »
Sorry to hear about the stroke Terry.  I have suffered from Essential Tremor, a very common neurological movement disorder,  for much of my life.  And although it is in part tamed by medication, I certainly have increasing difficulty putting things on the track.  Current release steam engines are bad - the leading bogie turns 180 degrees at no provocation.  Unlike the hefty version on the Poole designed locos.  Even 4 wheel wagons can be a challenge as they are so light and can bounce off whenI push them up to the train I am forming.

The Peco railer certainly is a great help to me - I have several.  Though you need straight track to do it.  And I wish it was long enough for a  Duchess or 75 ft DMU or Mk 3 coach to fit easily on before you ease it to the track.

Offline terrysoham

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 22528
  • Posts: 264
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #18 on: February 10, 2018, 12:34:19 pm »
I do really appreciate all your posts.  You have all been most helpful.
To my delight I have just run some trains on Neely - something that i thought would never happen again.
Terry Metcalfe
Ely and District Model Railway Club
Owner of Neely, modern N scale representation of Ely, available for exhibitions

Offline ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1792
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #19 on: February 10, 2018, 12:39:13 pm »

One thing to consider with a re-railer is that loco traction tires can, in time, suffer as they 'drag' when being slid on to the track. 

Slide gently, there's no need to apply any pressure.     Alternatively pull the re-railer out from under the loco rather than sliding the loco down the re-railer.  Simples.

I've never ever had any problems with traction tyres due to re-railers, and I've been using them for decades.
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

Offline daffy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: Lapsed
  • Posts: 1636
  • Country: gb
  • Learning everyday
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #20 on: February 10, 2018, 01:04:13 pm »

One thing to consider with a re-railer is that loco traction tires can, in time, suffer as they 'drag' when being slid on to the track. 

Slide gently, there's no need to apply any pressure.     Alternatively pull the re-railer out from under the loco rather than sliding the loco down the re-railer.  Simples.

I've never ever had any problems with traction tyres due to re-railers, and I've been using them for decades.

Agreed, I've had no such problems either, but from the experience of a friend who had a stroke I know that being light-handed can be an issue, hence my comment.
Mike

Sufferin' succotash!

Offline Portpatrick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 3434
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #21 on: February 10, 2018, 01:07:28 pm »
Having looked at the powered railer Dorsetmike referted to, ot seems to me that solves any possible isdue with traction tyres.  Given Prose seem to be in Istanbul, i wonder what the csrrisge and delivy vhsrges are.

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+59)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 28394
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #22 on: February 10, 2018, 01:23:27 pm »
I do really appreciate all your posts.  You have all been most helpful.
To my delight I have just run some trains on Neely - something that i thought would never happen again.

Running trains is just a great tonic. I'm very sorry to hear of your stroke.
A couple of years ago I had a triple bypass and have had 'shaky hand' syndrome ever since. I use a re-railer for everything (locos, wagons and coaches) but do take care with locos. An 0-6-0, with/without tender, might be OK but anything with front/rear bogies just has me beat without using the re-railer.

Offline RailGooner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 17356
  • Posts: 1502
  • Country: gb
    • Ebay
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #23 on: February 10, 2018, 01:26:16 pm »
Having looked at the powered railer Dorsetmike referted to, ot seems to me that solves any possible isdue with traction tyres.  Given Prose seem to be in Istanbul, i wonder what the csrrisge and delivy vhsrges are.

Reasonably priced at Osborne's:

http://www.osbornsmodels.com/proses-rlr-02--n-scale-powered-railer-for-locos-coaches-and-wagons-44702-p.asp
Per Ardua ad Astra | Mens Agitat Molem | Victoria Concordia Crescit

I'm supporting Project Railway Honour

Offline Portpatrick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 3434
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #24 on: February 10, 2018, 01:44:26 pm »
Thank you rsilgooner.  I will order one.  Never come across thesr before

Offline Portpatrick

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 3434
  • Posts: 634
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #25 on: February 10, 2018, 01:47:39 pm »
Excuse spelling oddities.  I am using the smsrtphone. So combination of small keys handshake sns eyesight makes anything happen.

Online dannyboy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25492
  • Posts: 2282
  • Country: ie
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #26 on: February 10, 2018, 08:36:47 pm »
Sorry to hear about your stroke Terry, hopefully things will improve for you. Percy Veer, (nice fella), with the hobby, anything that keeps the brain working has to be a good thing - and keep smiling.  :beers:
David.
I used to be indecisive - now I'm not - I don't think.

Offline Dorsetmike

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 2365
  • Posts: 3046
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
  • Grumpy old fart
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #27 on: February 10, 2018, 11:31:01 pm »
Got mine direct from Proses, shipped DHL from Istambul  €32 including P&P; took about 5 days but that was over a weekend. Routing was from Istamboul to Frankfurt to UK.

Might be possible to convert a Peco or other make to powered using adhessive copper tape?
Cheers MIKE
(Sorry, but you are not allowed to access the gallery)


How many roads must a man walk down ... ... ... ... ... before he knows he's lost!

Offline Zwilnik

  • Trade Count: (+4)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 19730
  • Posts: 1771
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #28 on: February 10, 2018, 11:42:48 pm »
Interesting, certainly not a bad price for a useful piece of kit.

It looks like it should be possible to actually make one with a couple of L profile strips of aluminium and some card to insulate the centreline (and box the end). Which might be handy if you need a longer one to put a whole train together and run onto the track.

Offline RailGooner

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 17356
  • Posts: 1502
  • Country: gb
    • Ebay
    • Awards
Re: How do you replace your stock in your storage yard?
« Reply #29 on: February 10, 2018, 11:51:56 pm »
..
It looks like it should be possible to actually make one with a couple of L profile strips of aluminium ...

 :idea: Just what I was thinking.
Per Ardua ad Astra | Mens Agitat Molem | Victoria Concordia Crescit

I'm supporting Project Railway Honour

 

Please Support Us!
June Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Jun 30
Total Receipts: £62.00
Above Goal: £7.00
Site Currency: GBP
113% 
June Donations


Advertise Here
anything