!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Wookery  (Read 205720 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+63)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 29343
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1560 on: March 09, 2018, 08:58:51 pm »
Are the points fixed down or 'floating' and secured by the rails around them. If so, you could cut through the IRJs, lift the point out and remove the bit left, then put metal joiners fully onto the point, put the point back in place and then, using pliers, slide the metal joiner onto the abutting rails.
Maybe not possible but just a thought.

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1561 on: March 09, 2018, 09:18:23 pm »
Are the points fixed down or 'floating' and secured by the rails around them.

All secured with track pins, and many of them ballasted too.

I think I've solved it all in my mind now, including the fiddle yard poser.

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1562 on: March 10, 2018, 12:17:35 pm »
Well guys, OPERATION DC has begun!  :D



Wookery has been stripped bare of buildings, backscene, vehicles, perspex, etc etc and the modules separated.

One quick question - I used stripped out ringmain wire for my power bus for DC, using red for one rail and black for the other.
I stripped off the insulation in spots where I needed to solder droppers on.
This was okay with DC as it ran on 3 amp to start with and 5 amp later, so resistance was minimal.

Can I do the same with DC, which will only be operating on 1 amp max, or will it cause a drop off?

Offline Innovationgame

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 26531
  • Posts: 2076
  • Country: gb
    • The innovationgame
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1563 on: March 10, 2018, 12:22:18 pm »
I stripped off the insulation in spots where I needed to solder droppers on.
This was okay with DC as it ran on 3 amp to start with and 5 amp later, so resistance was minimal.

Can I do the same with DC, which will only be operating on 1 amp max, or will it cause a drop off?
Quite the opposite.  The lower the current, the lower the voltage drop.  If your using stipped out twin and earth (used for ring mains) you'll get neglible voltage drop with currents less than 32A!
With kind regards
Laurence
My personal website is a bit of a mish mash
www.innovationgame.com

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1564 on: March 10, 2018, 01:34:19 pm »
Thanks Laurence......okay, it's wire cutter time! (Gulp)  :goggleeyes:

Offline Newportnobby

  • Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+63)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 29343
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1565 on: March 10, 2018, 04:07:36 pm »

I stripped off the insulation in spots where I needed to solder droppers on.


Any fiendishly clever method, Mike, or just careful use of a blade?

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1566 on: March 10, 2018, 04:40:37 pm »
Just hacking away a bit with a Stanley knife mate  :goggleeyes:
Ring main wire has such a thick copper core that you can't accidentally cut through it. That core is ideal to solder onto.

End board now has a second power bus installed, and the two mainlines are now live from the embankment board join to the points in the fiddle yard.
Trains have been run  :D

I'm now exhausted  :(

Offline Milton Rail

  • Larger Gallery
  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25213
  • Posts: 1778
  • Country: scotland
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1567 on: March 10, 2018, 05:01:39 pm »
Wishing you success with Operation DC & Operation Pacemaker ..... my last layout was DC, was quite happy with it, still have the controllers, but for my new layout, I opted for DCC from the outset, having converted most of my large (.....who said excessive?!) loco fleet now I will stick with it and buying DCC ready  .. I only have one issue that is beating me, an inadvertent reversing loop I have created & can't work out where to put the wires.... but I am enjoying the DCC control for the most part, when it works it is simplicity itself.... but when it doesn't .. I don't have an electronics degree to dust down!

What I love about Wookery is the scenics, the buildings, cameo's and photos of trains on the layout so as an observer I am unaffected by whether it is DCC or DC but how you want to control and operate it has to suit you.           

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1568 on: March 10, 2018, 05:20:36 pm »
Well thank you MR, your comments have cheered me up no end  :D

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1569 on: March 13, 2018, 04:45:07 pm »
I shiny new toy arrived today.....



I've already put it to good use - the two new boards are completely changed over to DC and locos have been run round.
I have to sort out jumpers across the join for all the fiddle yard tracks.
Unfortunately I used a 15 pin connector for the other wiring (points) and there aren't enough spare slots for all the new wires needed.
I'll have to buy a 25 pin connector, and then unsolder the 15 pin one and reconnect them. That's a recipe for a nightmare  :smiley-laughing:

Full marks to Hattons - ordered Sunday afternoon, delivered midday Tuesday.
It's nice just turning the knob and the trains move, turn it back and they stop.
I feel a book "Goodbye to DCC and all that" coming on.  :D

Offline DaveGlew

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1570 on: March 13, 2018, 05:38:25 pm »
DC is my also preference along with Gaugemaster - great kit.... so good luck.  Just an FYI for other readers (sorry Wookie) but if you buy the Q Panel and 2 transformers from RS it works out about 40 less. You then need a case of course but woodwork could solve that.
If it looks right, it probably is right.

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1571 on: March 13, 2018, 07:33:57 pm »
Yes I looked at those Dave, but I wasn't sure about my box making skills, and the Gaugemaster cases are extremely strong!
The cased ones hold their value pretty well in the secondhand market too.

I am sooooo pleased with this decision, I feel a weight lifted off my shoulders.

Offline DaveGlew

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 271
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1572 on: March 13, 2018, 07:36:04 pm »
Sometimes a change is as good as a rest..... Good luck with your DC
If it looks right, it probably is right.

Online themadhippy

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 498
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1573 on: March 13, 2018, 08:08:05 pm »
Quote
Unfortunately I used a 15 pin connector for the other wiring (points) and there aren't enough spare slots for all the new wires needed.
I'll have to buy a 25 pin connector, and then unsolder the 15 pin one and reconnect them.
why not leave the 15 pin alone and add another for the new wiring

Offline wookie

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
  • Posts: 1640
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Wookery
« Reply #1574 on: March 13, 2018, 08:28:20 pm »
why not leave the 15 pin alone and add another for the new wiring
There isn't really room.
My layout is on a pair of 8' tables, so I don't place the connectors under the board but on the side edge.

 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £55.00
Below Goal: £0.00
Site Currency: GBP
100% 
September Donations


Advertise Here
anything