Proper operation of a branch line locomotive?

Started by Chrispy, November 04, 2016, 03:01:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chrispy

I'm not a prototypical type of guy, but I'm wondering about the way locos 'should' operate on an 'out and back' branch line.
Should the loco be turned around for the return trip using a turntable, or is it OK to haul rolling stock backwards?
I'm planning my layout and am wondering if a passing siding is sufficient, or should I install a turntable at both ends of the line?
As you can probably tell, I am new to this stuff!
Thanks, Chris
Sometimes my mind wanders,
Other times it leaves completely...

Bealman

Some British branchline termini had turntables, but others did not. It was common practice for tank engines to run around their trains at the platform on a loop. In other words, it's fine for a tank engine (or even a tender engine such as an Ivatt) to haul a train backwards.

GWR branches often ran autocoaches which had a tank engine (usually a pannier), and controls at the coach end so it could be driven from there.

When railcars and DMUs were introduced of course, this became unnecessary.

Most branch stations had small goods yards which were busy areas of shunting activity.

There are many branch track plans available both on the net and in book form, and it could be an idea to have a look at these before going ahead with your layout.

Hope this helps!  :thumbsup:
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Karhedron

As a rough rule, if a branch was operated primarily by tank engines then running bunker-first for half the journeys would be the norm. Only if tender engines were a regular feaure would a turntable be provided since these were only permitted to run tender-first at low speeds (25mph IIRC).
Quote from: ScottyStitch on September 29, 2015, 11:28:46 AM
Well, that's just not good enough. Some fount of all knowledge you are!  :no:  ;)

austinbob

Quote from: Karhedron on November 04, 2016, 08:56:23 AM