What locos to start with?

Started by Sockskii, January 02, 2017, 02:47:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sockskii

Hi.
I am new to n gauge so forgive me but I was just wondering what locos are good to start with. Want to find a train which is a good combination of pulling power and price and where to find them. They should be:
- DCC ready or fitted (or easily converted),
- Trains that have run or still running on Britains railways,
- hassle free trains,
- More or less any era as it is just a place to start.

I have recently moved from (prepare for profane language) OO gauge and just trying to find a good place to start on n.
:thankyousign:

scottishlocos

Hi 

As somebody who moved from OO to N a few years ago I hope I can help you in some way. You should look at the trainsets or train packs available and find one which suits what you want to model. You will get a loco and suitable coaches or wagons some sets or packs even have buildings like a signal box.

Dave

Jerry Howlett

Western Princess will be arriving soon to convince you to go Hydraulic.....

Not a bad idea though......

For pulling power and steam you cannot beat Union Mills stuff but it does not come DCC ready.

Jerry
Some days its just not worth gnawing through the straps.

Newportnobby

Hi Sockskii and welcome aboard :wave:
Being a strictly transition era modeller I'd suggest the following:-
Diesels - Farish
Class 08,20,24,25,31,37,42,101,108, Blue Pullman
Diesels - Dapol
Class 22,26,33,35,52,121

Steam - Farish
Jinty, J39, 2MT, 3MT, 4MT, 5MT, Duchess, WD, B1, Fairburn, N class, Jubilee, Royal Scot, 64xx pannier

Steam - Dapol
A4, Britannia, Schools

How big is your bank balance? :D

Skyline2uk

Quote- DCC ready or fitted (or easily converted),
- Trains that have run or still running on Britains railways,
- hassle free trains,
- More or less any era as it is just a place to start.