Checking Local Network Speed

Started by Nick, July 05, 2017, 01:58:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nick

Hi,

I recently purchased a Seagate Network Attached Storage device - a 4Tb "Personal Cloud" hard drive.

It is cabled into my router, and the my PC is also cabled to the router. The PC (Windows 10)  is reporting a 1Gb/s Ethernet2 connection to the router.

Writing large volumes of files to the NAS (for backup purposes) seems painfully slow compared to my existing USB3.0 external HDD. I appreciate that USB3.0 can transfer data at up to 5Gb/s, but I seem to be experiencing a larger differential than that. Even deleting files is taking an age. (I got myself in a tangle setting up a backup routine and I need to start again.)

I have no experience of testing a  network for proper functioning. Can anybody suggest how I can check what speed I am actually achieving in the transfers, and, if it is lower than it should be, how to go about isolating the problem to the NAS, cables, card, router, etc.?

Thanks
Nick

The perfect is the enemy of the good - Voltaire

Malc

Network speed and throughput are different. Because of the overheads on data coding with Ethernet connections, you probably only get 125 Mbytes per second from 1g bits per second network connection. USB 3 can transfer some where about 640 Mbytes/sec.
If you are using a router, log onto the router and check the statistics. Cheap network cables can be a problem. Look at the errors, clear them, do a transfer and look again.
The years have been good to me, it was the weekends that did the damage.

Nick

Many thanks - but I still should be back to a 5:1 differential in throughput and it feels worse than that. That may be my impatience, I suppose.

Any idea where in the router pages I'd find these statistics? I don't recall seeing that sort of thing, but I've never had cause to look, I admit. It's a Virgin SuperHub, I believe.
Nick

Malc