Total Beginner, any "bibles" out there?

Started by thetigers123, December 31, 2016, 01:12:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thetigers123

As im a total noob i was wondering if they are any books that i could purchase that tells me everything i need to know about starting out?
Im needing help in purchasing a baseboard, deciding on track, layout, electrics, scenery, what locos buildings etc to buy, even down to what tools i need to purchase. Ive even seen people use carriages and trains to test the layout before fixing it down so do i need to buy those first?
Thanks for reading.

port perran

This is a difficult question to which you will get numerous replies.
I'd suggest your local model shop as a good starting point (as well as this forum). Generally shop proprietors are happy to pass on knowledge (after all , you may well become a customer).
I think you need to decide on the size (and shape) of your layout first then give consideration as to baseboard. Does the layout need to be portable or will it be static ? That will have a big bearing on the building of the baseboard. If it is to be portable then you may consider building the baseboard in individual sections (to make it easier to move about) but of course, you then have the problem of joining the track each time you assemble the layout.
The reason people try out carriages etc before finally fixing the track is to ensure that they run OK with adequate clearance (ie they don't foul the edges or any platforms) and that they don't derail on awkward points or on sharp bends.
There is so much to consider. Search each section on here for ideas first eg search baseboards or track etc.
Just a few ramblings fro me to get this topic running but as I've said you will get plenty of tips and suggestions from others.
I'll get round to fixing it drekkly me 'ansome.

thetigers123

Thanks for the reply.
I'm allowed the spare room as i mentioned in another post but she wants the spare bed still in there  :censored: :veryangry: