Total Beginner, any "bibles" out there?

Started by thetigers123, December 31, 2016, 01:12:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thetigers123

You guys are great and i already have enough stuff to be reading up on now over the new year  :thankyousign:

Nick

Quote from: thetigers123 on December 31, 2016, 01:12:57 PM
As im a total noob i was wondering if they are any books that i could purchase that tells me everything i need to know about starting out?
Im needing help in purchasing a baseboard, deciding on track, layout, electrics, scenery, what locos buildings etc to buy, even down to what tools i need to purchase. Ive even seen people use carriages and trains to test the layout before fixing it down so do i need to buy those first?
Thanks for reading.
I never found one particular "Bible". Lots of books attempt the task, but most of them are better in some areas than others. If you have a decent model shop or bookshop nearby, so much the better, otherwise visit a show that has booksellers where you can browse and choose a book (or, more likely, books) whose style and level suits you. All things being equal, I would tend toward a modern book that used modern materials and techniques than an old classic.

Magazines - several have quite decent practical sections. There were a couple of nice articles in the November and December issues of British Railway Modelling which followed the building of a box-sized N gauge layout by Phil Parker at TINGS, which necessarily takes you right through the process from baseboard to a simple working scenic layout. Back issues are available.

Which leads on to....SIZE. Yes, it does matter.  :D If you are a complete noob, don't under-estimate the amount of time, effort, commitment and expense that is necessary to complete a model railway. And, very roughly, they go up as the square of the size of the layout, because you model an area, not a length.