!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Union Mills LMS 2P loco  (Read 3596 times)

Offline Boris Cricket

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
Union Mills LMS 2P loco
« on: August 28, 2011, 10:55:31 am »
Hi Guy's & Gal's

As a novice modeller without a layout of my own, I am still learning.  A couple of months back I brought my first Union Mills, the LMS 2P 4-4-0 in red.  I ordered the engine over the phone and 2 days later it arrived. I tried it on my 'test track' (a 30 inch bit of old shelf with Y shape track laid mainly as a wiring exercise for the point motor).

Next day when running it on the club track (Sumware - www.burystedmundsmrc.com/clublay.html) it was obvious the tender/engine were slightly out of line. The tender shifting to the left side by about 1mm. Unfortunately UM had just started their summer holiday so there was a couple of weeks delay in contacting them.

After a telephone discussion with Colin Heard (Mr UM) it seems that the the short wheel base of the 4-4-0 engine plus tender drive does throw up a couple of compromises which are not so apparent on most modellers tracks that tend to have short straights.

Colin suggested several adjustments that I should try, such as adjusting the pigtail position between the engine/tender, tightening the spring on the front boogie and tightening the connecting bar between tender/engine.  He did say that if I was still unhappy then he could adjust the width of the axles, but this make it a bit stiff on curved track.