Issues for a Newbie

Started by Old Crow, October 13, 2017, 12:55:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Old Crow

I'm completely new to N gauge and I'll be needing to ask quite a few questions. I hope those of you experienced won't mind as there's so much I need to learn.

Just running some tests with setrack I can see there are issues with rail joints and tight curves. I intend to use flexitrack for my layout and I understand the best is to solder the joins. How do you guys do this? Do you use connectors and solder these or just butt the rails and solder? Do you fill any gaps and smooth these after? I have facility with soldering from electronics but I'd like to know how you guys do it, or if anyone considers it not necessary with fixed down track?

Another issue is isolatiion in sidings etc. Do you cut one rail or both?

Bealman

I have soldered joins, and have used both the techniques you describe, depending on location and circumstances. The important thing of course, is to keep the inside of the rails clear of solder.

Regarding isolating sections, with a DC layout,  it is only necessary to cut one rail, and bridge with a switch, so you can run a locomotive onto the section, and then isolate it by flicking the switch. I have many of these on my layout.
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Webbo

I have always soldered the joins after rail joiners have been fitted. I've found it best to bend the rail first pretty much as it would be in position, trim the end of the longer rail, fit the rail joiners and close the gaps on both rails, then solder. When soldering I don't try to bend rail into its final position until after solder has set. If the rail is 'relaxed' when you are soldering the rail ends will not have any tendency to kink. After soldering, I use a Dremel tool inside and outside of the rail to trim it all up. If you are using rail joiners, the amount of solder necessary should be small.

By using a hot iron, you are less likely to melt the sleepers.

Webbo