!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: PJ's first layout  (Read 566 times)

Offline Pjlons83

• Trade Count: (0)
    • Awards
PJ's first layout
« on: October 15, 2017, 10:09:24 pm »
Hi All,

After introducing myself in the welcome forum, a few people asked about my plans so I thought I'd start a progress thread here. I have posted similar on another forum so sorry to anyone who may have already seen it. I'm currently still in the planning stage with just a few decisions made so I'm still open to ideas and of course - advice!

The layout is my first as I'm completely new to model railways. I arrived at N gauge based on the space I had available. I wanted a continuous loop and only had around a foot in width to play with so I'm going with a "shelf" with the loop split in half by a dividing wall. The side on view is in my "man cave" with the other side being the garage.

The board on top of the white unit is where the base will sit.

To give a better idea of the room/space I have mocked it up in basic form in sketchup;

(The split in the shelf was an early idea to add a floating bridge between the 2 as a feature. Not sure whether that will actually happen or not....)

The height of the shelf means that not a lot will be visible other than the front edge;

This is to scale to show what the viewing angle looks like. I will consider this during my design by adding height and features.

Offline Pjlons83

• Awards
Re: PJ's first layout
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2017, 10:24:47 pm »