!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.

Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Wookery  (Read 149871 times)

Offline wookie

• Trade Count: (0)
  • N Gauge Society Number: 24741
    • Facebook
    • Awards
Wookery
« on: March 06, 2014, 03:34:09 pm »
Hello from a complete noob!
I've always fancied building a scenic model railway, but when I was a kid the board in my bedroom would have the train set on it one week, and the scalextrix the next.
I tried again when my own sons were old enough, but they were more into computer games, and so the whole lot got sold.
I now have 3 young grandsons, and whether they like it or not, grandad is going to play with them with his train set!
Space is limited, so it is going to be N gauge and in modules.
I am going to attempt to build it to exhibition standard, and have joined the NGS and my local group, who have been very helpful.
My knowledge of the railways is very limited, I have to confess.
More from cowardice than for any other reason I plumped for pre-war GWR, as I figured that I could run anything that said GWR on it quite safely. I now realise that I have a mixture of locos with "Great Western", GWR and the shirt button on them, so am covering 3 different periods already! Further reading reveals that I am looking at about 4 different coach colour schemes too - what have I let myself in for? Some of the books that I have read depict rolling stock in old liveries still being run on branch lines way after colours were changed, so (again the cowards route) I will place my layout in 1946 and run them all together  :D