!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: wiring a large layout  (Read 573 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bobby098

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
wiring a large layout
« on: June 09, 2017, 10:40:51 pm »
hi need help with the wiring,   just done a drawing of a layout that's going  in the shed,  picture below  all points are electric (peco Insulfrogs )  I like to run two trains , can anyone tell me or draw me picture where to put the wires to run 2 trains ? would I need drop wires to help with the power for the track ?  its going to be dc  , I know how to wire up the points its just the track I need help .. sorry for this but this is a very helpful forum     cheers bob










Offline Malc

  • Trade Count: (+3)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21878
  • Posts: 3987
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 09:23:21 am »
The problem you will have is where you have the joining points. You will need to put a change over section in between the loops. Power feeds can be fitted any where around the loops, with each of the sidings having its own feed, probably switched to isolate it.
I'm not sure if life is passing me by, or trying to run me over.

Offline Bealman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23151
  • Posts: 11632
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Whoops back we go
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2017, 09:37:56 am »
Wot he said.  :thumbsup:
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Offline ntpntpntp

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 850
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2017, 10:01:52 am »
Both main lines running in the same direction (according to the arrows)?  Wouldn't it be more fun to run in opposite directions like a normal double track main line?

Put your power feeds at the toe end (beginning) of point formations.  Use insulated rail joiners wherever you have crossovers between the two main lines.  Consider some isolated switched sections in sidings and loops where you might want to park one loco while you run another on the same controller.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2017, 10:53:35 am by ntpntpntp »
Nick.   2016 celebrating the 20th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!

Offline Bealman

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23151
  • Posts: 11632
  • Country: au
  • Gender: Male
  • Whoops back we go
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2017, 10:28:52 am »
Yep, isolated sections in sidings definitely useful with DC.

Loco pulls train in, flick isolating switch, allows another loco to draw train out and push into siding elsewhere.  :thumbsup:
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Offline bobby098

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2017, 01:44:22 pm »
hi heres another picture of the layout with the scenic and  building taking out    just the track plan  6ft x 6ft  square
 question is
1  can I run 2 trains
2 best place to put the feed wires
3 were to put insulated rail joiners
4where to put isolated switched sections

sorry about silly question but I am total cxxp at wiring knowledge with electric is a no no  ???
can any one draw a pic for me please  cheers bob





Offline newportnobby

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (+53)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21962
  • Posts: 25559
  • Country: england
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2017, 04:35:31 pm »
1. You have 2 separate ovals so, yes, but you need either 2 controllers or a twin track controller where each of the windings are separate e.g. Gaugemaster or Morley. I suggest you wire both controllers to all the feeds via switches so each controller can operate all track. That way you can run one train from one oval to another without trying to 'balance' the contollers.
2. I have shown the feeds as I would have them.
3. I have put red lines where insulated rail joiners would be required and I put them on both rails
4. Your sidings look too short to me to warrant isolated sections. Can you explain what they would be for please?



I'm not the worlds best at electrickery so wait for more replies!

Offline bobby098

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2017, 05:44:01 pm »
hi and thanks for your trouble ..  the two  sidings at the top are going to be longer with a engine shed  the other on the left side is a goods shed again down the bottom of the page one is a shed the other goods shed again longer track .. cheers bob

Offline LAandNQFan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 291
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2017, 07:10:03 pm »
I'm willing to try to draw up an accurate plan for you, Bob, if you would like me to.  First I would need to know if your shed is 6'x6' internal.  If if is an external measurement and you have 3" framing, the actual interior dimensions will be significantly smaller, which will have quite an important effect on the free distance between points for planning sidings and stations.
Perhaps the proof that there is intelligent life in outer space is that they haven't contacted us.
Layout thread: http://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=23416

Offline bobby098

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2017, 07:30:52 pm »
hi that will be great ...   heres the picture  with the measurements off the work top    cheers bob




Offline bobby098

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #10 on: June 11, 2017, 10:24:51 am »
heres the  measurements 

 


Offline bobby098

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: wiring a large layout
« Reply #11 on: June 13, 2017, 07:00:02 pm »
ok thanks everyone for your help ... and I would like to thank LAandNQFan for all the help and drawings ..   time to get started  cheers bob
« Last Edit: June 13, 2017, 07:08:50 pm by bobby098 »

 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £70.00
Above Goal: £15.00
Site Currency: GBP
127% 
September Donations


Advertise Here
anything