!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: The Closet Branch - A layout in my closet.  (Read 15913 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #45 on: May 21, 2016, 08:18:57 pm »
I apologize my poor description.
I read my previous posting and I don't know what I'm talking myself!!
As probably know already, the Atlas brand (maybe Kato too) locos have thin  power pickup strips that bounce up and down. So it stays constant contact with truck mounted power pickups. It's particularly good for twisting motion while running. I wanted imitate the strips. I think the switch that I have trouble with has a slight warp so SD45's tiny pickup would lose contact with the body. And the track beyond the switch is super-elevated for a curvature. That's not helping either.
Did I make better explanation?
Now excuse me, I need to go finding my railroad socks!!  ;)

Offline dannyboy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25492
  • Posts: 1608
  • Country: ie
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #46 on: May 22, 2016, 11:59:39 am »
Excuse my ignorance,

 :confused2:

That's two of us then  :) what is a springing plate  ???
David.
I used to be indecisive - now I'm not - I don't think.

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #47 on: May 22, 2016, 12:35:31 pm »
I know, I know!! Sorry folks!! The Ignorance is mine!!
Anyway, I learned a few important stuff from this experience.
1: If you run a loco with high speed on tiny layout oval track, it makes you dizzy.
2: If you have stinky feet, those will creates critical smelling hazard condition in the closet.(That's why Mr magnolia's the railroad socks concept is important.)
3: I definitely use Electro- frog switches for a future project!!

Happy modelling, guys!!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2016, 12:45:15 pm by dats475, Reason: Tried to upload a picture but no avail. »

Offline GaryAlan

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #48 on: May 22, 2016, 12:49:17 pm »
a pair of  :NGaugersRule: socks would be cool
I started out with nothing, and I still have most of it left...

Offline dannyboy

  • Trade Count: (+1)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 25492
  • Posts: 1608
  • Country: ie
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #49 on: May 22, 2016, 01:38:17 pm »
a pair of  :NGaugersRule: socks would be cool

Seconded  :thumbsup:
David.
I used to be indecisive - now I'm not - I don't think.

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #50 on: May 22, 2016, 02:05:23 pm »

a pair of  :NGaugersRule: socks would be cool

Thirded...... By necessity.

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #51 on: May 29, 2016, 10:52:05 pm »
Hello again.
My SD45 sound is way too loud. When I run it the sound everywhere in the closet. Yes, my closet is too small!!
What? What did you said?  Still dealing with this loco?.....yes I am.

I couldn't change SD45's volume though. Bachmann's website said CV128 but my DCC program read back said value 0 and the volume doesn't change. So I searched on the web for more.
A person said you have to use "blast mode". (What?! What mode?!!)
I just followed the steps but still not changing.
So I said "forget all of this". Then I decided to use sophisticated method for the solution.
"The masking tape"!!
image
image
Now the volume is just right and runs OK.
One question remain, what the blast mode?



 

Offline Caz

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23044
  • Posts: 4704
  • Country: es
  • Gender: Female
  • Fairford Branch ticket 1958
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #52 on: May 30, 2016, 11:30:08 am »
Blast mode is extremely dangerous as it links the programming side of the DCC controller to the power side to put extra umph for programming.  You have to place the loco on the main track, not the programming track and that's why it is dangerous as if you DON'T remove all other locos they will ALL get programmed the same way.   :doh:

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #53 on: May 30, 2016, 02:26:18 pm »
Thank you very much for your help, Caz!
Please bear with me. I just want to make sure that I understand "Blast mode" correctly.
I don't need to swap the wires from regular power wires to programing wires when I try to use the mode, right?
I mean wire hookup to the layout is same but change the settings of DCC command station to the Blast mode. So I can do it on the layout track. Not in the programing track. Am I right?
You use it when you need extra power. Is that correct too?
I'm using Digitrax DCS 50.(Old version Zephyr)
I didn't see the Blast mode on their manual.

One more question. When I turn off the Zephyr, l see a light flash on my Zeyphr's power light and loco's head lights on the layout. It looks like a jolt of power is going through there while shutting down. Do I need worry about that? Or I need circuit breaker or something???
I'm sorry if I'm not making this clear, but hey, I know you're smart. You can guess what I'm talking about, right?

What!!  Who said that DCC is a waste of technology for my tiny layout?!! Let me tell you something..... Ah....you're right!

I like the name "Blast mode". Feel like I'm blasting something. Cool!!
« Last Edit: May 30, 2016, 09:55:00 pm by dats475 »

Offline Caz

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23044
  • Posts: 4704
  • Country: es
  • Gender: Female
  • Fairford Branch ticket 1958
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #54 on: May 31, 2016, 08:24:45 am »
I've only used blast mode programming once and that was by mistake as I pressed the wrong option switch.  Ttook me ages to reprogram all my other locos as I'd then gone into programming a loco on the programming track not realising I was in blast mode and programming that loco programmed everything the same.   :-[

I'm not sure what the option switch is on the old DCS50 Zephyr is (maybe the same) but I believe it can be done on it as well.  On the current DCS51 Zephyr it is Option Switch 7 and here's a a bit of info I gleaned some while ago from the Yahoo Digitrax group.  It makes the whole layout one big programming track so use it VERY carefully.

"Blast mode programming turns your Zephyr into a mini Empire builder broadcast programmer. You can put the Zephyr into Blast Mode by Closing Option Switch 7 on the Zephyr. Changing option switches is covered in the Zephyr manual but Blast mode is not documented. Once the Zephyr is in blast mode, remove all engines from your track and leave only the one you want to program on the track. Go ahead and enter Direct programming mode and try programming. Blast mode uses full power to program just like the Empire Builder. When finished, Throw option switch 7 to turn off blast mode. You do not want to leave the Zephyr in blast mode. "

Here's a link to the subject on Digitrax's website, it gives full instructions.  http://www.digitrax.com/tsd/programming/programming-mobile-decoders/programming-modes/blast-mode-zephyr-systems-only/
« Last Edit: May 31, 2016, 08:44:06 am by Caz, Reason: Added Digitrax link »

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #55 on: June 06, 2016, 03:43:20 pm »
Hi, Caz.
Thank you so much for the link. That's very big help for me. I'll report it back to you how the loco and blast mode programing are doing.
Meanwhile this is the latest activity on  my tiny train crews.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SrtxxFABY3A
« Last Edit: June 06, 2016, 04:59:32 pm by dats475, Reason: I went to bathroom while I was typing. »

Offline mr magnolia

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 20060
  • 2mm Association Number: 4735
  • Posts: 676
  • Country: scotland
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #56 on: June 06, 2016, 07:27:37 pm »
Meanwhile this is the latest activity on  my tiny train crews.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SrtxxFABY3A

Dats entertainment....
I take my sox off to you.

Thanks for the show!

Donald

Online Webbo

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1351
  • Country: au
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #57 on: June 07, 2016, 12:19:44 am »
Another great one dats.

I particularly like the view of your layout from about 2/3 of the way in to your video. What does it look like in the other direction?

Webbo

Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #58 on: June 12, 2016, 11:04:39 pm »
Thank you for your time, mr magnolia.
Did you find a southern pacific sox? I need it bad!!

Thank you webbo. I tried upload a picture but I'm getting error. I'll learn how to do it later.(I'll read how to thread)





Offline dats475

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: A layout in my closet- The Closet Branch.
« Reply #59 on: June 13, 2016, 01:04:07 am »
This is the other side of my layout. A pile of  tools, locks and junks.
Yes, I cheated by clean up a little bit. Usually way more messy this area.


 

Please Support Us!
September Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Sep 30
Total Receipts: £70.00
Above Goal: £15.00
Site Currency: GBP
127% 
September Donations


Advertise Here
anything