!!

Not Registered?

Welcome!  Please register to view all of the new posts and forum boards - some of which are hidden to guests.  After registering and gaining 10 posts you will be able to sell and buy items on our N'porium.

If you have any problems registering, then please check your spam filter before emailing us.  Hotmail users seem to find their emails in the Junk folder.


Thanks for reading,
The NGF Staff.

Author Topic: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem  (Read 260 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline AdyDnt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« on: February 10, 2018, 12:22:05 am »
Can anybody help ?
Iíve just bought an NCE Powercab system and 2 Gaugemaster decoders for my first experience of dcc control. With a decoder fitted in my Farish Deltic prototype and Farish 4-6-0 B1 they donít want to increase in speed past step 14 even when 28 steps is selected in the decoder config (CV29). Iím wondering if the decoders are faulty ?

Offline Caz

  • Moderator
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ****
  • N Gauge Society Number: 23044
  • Posts: 4824
  • Country: es
  • Gender: Female
  • Fairford Branch ticket 1958
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Skype
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2018, 09:19:58 am »
First of all, welcome to the forum, great to have you on board.  Let us know what your plans are, what sort of layout do you have or are you still planning, what region, country etc as we are a nosey lot on here.

The Gaugemaster DCC23 is not a very good chip and if you search on the forum you will see many references to poor running.  Dependant on how old it is, it is either a rebadged downgraded Digitrax DZ123 or a DZ125, the 123 was very basic and doesn't even have BMF so you have very little motor control and if memory serves me well only basic speed adjustment.

I'm sure others will be along to add their experiences of the DCC23.



Online Paul-H

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
  • Country: gb
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2018, 09:30:04 am »
Have you tried changing the speed steps using the NEC handset, try changing it to 128 and see what happens the DCC23 supports 128 steps

Offline AdyDnt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2018, 10:13:53 am »
When you press the button on the power cab for 128 steps you again only get acceleration up to halfway through the speed steps, so at step 64 you get no more acceleration. I can’t fault the running of it otherwise.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2018, 11:14:34 am by AdyDnt »

Offline AdyDnt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2018, 05:22:27 pm »
I visited Digitrains in Lincoln today and took my loco with me and had them run it on their test layout, they replicated the problem and advised me to run it in again, plugged the chip into a test motor and it ran fine so ruled out the chip and said the loco ran well too. So we shall see what happens after another running in period.

Offline AdyDnt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2018, 07:33:33 pm »
Well after purchasing a Bachmann decoder all seems to be working properly out the box, the Gaugemaster ones have been retuned, donít think Iíll be using them again.

Online Tank

  • Administrator
  • Trade Count: (+28)
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7032
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Facebook
    • Instagram
    • Twitter
    • YouTube
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2018, 08:45:28 pm »
I use DCC23's on all of my loco's.  It sounds like you needed to adjust the CV values, so it knows when the loco is at it's peak.

Offline AdyDnt

  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Newbie
  • **
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: gb
  • Gender: Male
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2018, 12:35:49 am »
Adjusting the cvís made no difference whatsoever

Offline Madrigal

  • Advertiser
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • N Gauge Society Number: 21518
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: 00
  • Gender: Male
    • Wickness Models
    • Awards
Re: Gaugemaster Dcc23 decoder problem
« Reply #8 on: Today at 12:33:27 am »
This was a very common feature with the original DZ125 and DZ126 decoders a few years ago, it was common when using any controller whether US or EU in origin, I saw it with Lenz Set 100, ECoS and Powercab, essentially the loco would stop accelerating at exactly half power whether 28 or 128 speed steps was in use. I'm not sure how a current DCC23 or DZ126 decoder performs but they are one and the same. I would tend to agree that the Digitrax DZ126 is a relatively poor decoder but it does not always perform like this, better options though are Lenz Silver Mini or ESU Nano, more expensive but more reliable without major cv adjustment

 

Please Support Us!
February Goal: £55.00
Due Date: Feb 28
Total Receipts: £60.00
Above Goal: £5.00
Site Currency: GBP
109% 
February Donations


Advertise Here
anything