curved points / crossover on curves

Started by bluedepot, August 26, 2018, 08:43:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bluedepot

hi everyone

do you encounter any more running problems with curved points / a crossover using curved points?

i've never used curved points before so i just wondered...

cheers

tim

ntpntpntp

No reason why there should be any problems at all.  I can't comment on the Setrack curved points,  but I have code 55 curved points here:   

Nick.   2021 celebrating the 25th anniversary of "Königshafen" exhibition layout!
https://www.ngaugeforum.co.uk/SMFN/index.php?topic=50050.0

broadsword

ntpntptn Is that a DB layout, looks most impressive .

railsquid

Quote from: bluedepot on August 26, 2018, 08:43:18 PM
hi everyone

do you encounter any more running problems with curved points / a crossover using curved points?

I have a pair of Tomix curved points (280mm/315mm radius) as a crossover on my main running lines, no fundamental problems so far, though you need to take care they're laid as flat and as evenly as possible.

I'm gradually testing all my stock on the current iteration of my layout to check for potential problems in various locations, the British stuff will be up soon so I will try and remember to leave a comment if I notice something.

Bealman

I have several curved code 80 points. No problems encountered.
Vision over visibility. Bono, U2.

Chris Morris

Streamline curved points have given me absolutely no problems. Set track curved points are rather sharp and can cause problems with steam locos. My 9F won't negotiate a set track curved point because the wheelbase is too long. The set track points also sometimes appear to be responsible for Dapol milk tanks derailing.

Streamline curved points look nice.

Working doesn't seem to be the perfect thing for me so I'll continue to play.
Steve Marriott / Ronnie Lane

Bealman

Yes, I've always had a fondness for curved point, they seem to me to look more prototypical.

twinklekev